The Ice Wine Diva

I recently received a tee-shirt as a gift which read “Wine Diva” —all in pink sparkles.  My friend said when she saw it she thought of me, which made us both laugh.  Yes, I do drink my share of wine, but a diva I am not.   Not about wine or in general, but I still love the shirt and will wear it with the same enthusiasm that I wear my sparkly Harley Davidson shirt (which is even further from the mark than the diva shirt, considering I’ve never been on one and have zero interest). 

A few weeks back a friend came for a party with a bottle of white wine that wasn’t chilled, so I suggested we pop it into the freezer for a few minutes.  Well, to make a long story short, in the meantime we’d opened other bottles and were drinking my champagne sangria, and completely forgot about the wine.  I didn’t discover it until the next day when I opened the freezer to get some frozen waffles for my kids, and there it was, cork blown straight out, and frozen solid.  I had no idea wine would freeze!  I knew alcohol didn’t freeze, and that many people keep things like vodka and limoncello in their freezers.  Well, I guess wine doesn’t have enough alcohol to qualify as freeze-proof, and my proof was right in front of me.

I defrosted the wine and honestly it was fine (like I said, I’m not a diva about such things).  But as I was sipping my very chilly glass something dawned on me.  What if I made wine-cubes similar to my coffee-cubes, so in summertime when it’s particularly hot and I’m feeling especially un-diva-like I could pop a few of those cubes in my glass and not worry about watering it down?   Maybe it was the wine talking, but I thought it was a stroke of brilliance and pulled out my heart-shaped ice cube trays and filled them up.  Hey, if you’re going to put ice cubes in your wine, they might as well be heart-shaped! 😉

The unofficial start to summer has arrived—and divas don’t do well in the heat!  Soon, when it is 95 degrees and you’re sitting on your patio sipping a nice crisp glass of wine at the end of the day, you’ll be thanking me as your cubes clink together in your plastic wine glass. 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

