Easter Egg Salad Sandwiches

Coloring eggs is one of my favorite traditions, however come Easter Monday, we always seem to have more pastel hard-boiled eggs than we know how to use.  Luckily, I’m a huge fan of egg salad. 

 I tend to be a bit of  a ‘purist’ about many food-related things.  I don’t like pineapple on my pizza.  I don’t want cherry flavor in my Coke, and other than mayo and salt, I prefer my egg salad “naked”.  Nothing in it or on it was how I rolled.  That was until recently.

Faced with a lot of eggs and produce drawer full of left over vegetables, I decided to step out of the egg carton and try something new.  Being my first foray into experimental egg salad territory, I didn’t get too crazy.  I’d start simply.  Chopped celery was my first addition, and since I hadn’t broken into a cold sweat yet, I decided to also add some chopped scallions.  The color alone was gorgeous–the pale yellow of the yolks with the light green celery and dark green scallion already looked better than my usual version.  But how would it taste?

Delicious.  See what happens when you take a walk on the wild side?  Better watch out, next thing you know I might be ordering chicken on my pizza!

Easter Egg Salad

Makes enough for 3-4 sandwiches

6 hard-boiled eggs

1/3 cup mayo (or more if desired)

1/2 teaspoon salt (or to taste)

1 stalk celery, finely chopped

2 scallions, finely sliced

Using an egg slicer or knife, dice the eggs and place into a medium bowl.

Add the mayo, salt, celery and scallions and mix to combine.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.
Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Easter Egg Salad Sandwiches”

  1. Sonal Says:

    I love egg salad sandwiches and don’t do much beyond what you describe in your recipe…except for two additions: chopped green olives and chopped dill pickle. Oh, and lots of fresh cracked black pepper. I’m getting hungry just thinking about this sandwich filling!

Leave a Reply

