Fettucine with Lemony Mascarpone

Every so often I hit the jackpot with a recipe.  Tonight I was looking for a way to use some mascarpone cheese I had leftover from one of my Connecticut cooking classes.  Mascarpone is an Italian cream cheese…not as sweet as the cream cheese you put on your bagel, but richer and creamier.  If you’ve had Tiramisu (or at least real Tiramisu), you’ve had mascarpone.  I knew it would make a delicious and creamy sauce for pasta, so I went hunting for a good recipe.

Well, I found it.  I love when what I find is from a fellow food blogger rather than some commercial site.  The recipe I found, for “Spaghetti with Mascarpone, Meyer Lemon, Spinach and Hazelnut” was a winner.  Amazingly, I had all the ingredients, save for a Meyer lemon (sweeter and more expensive than regular lemons).  I did have a regular lemon, but I had a suspicion it would work just fine.  I was right.  O. M. G.  Delicious.  I used fettuccine instead of spaghetti, but “same difference” as people love to say.   I almost couldn’t believe I didn’t make any changes.  It was that good. 

With my hat off to the folks over at The Kitchn…here is the recipe. Enjoy!

 Spaghetti with Mascarpone, Meyer Lemon, Spinach and Hazelnut from The Kitchn

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

