Champagne Sangria

I was hosting a celebration at my house, so champagne was definitely in order.  I thought about making my Pomegranate Champagne Punch, a recipe I’d created for one of my corporate clients, Bigelow Tea.  However, as I walked through the aisles of my favorite wine shop, I had a lightbulb moment…what if I made sangria with champagne?   I thought I was really on to something here, and couldn’t wait to get home to start mixing. 

The first thing I did was Google “champagne sangria”.  Sure enough, Giada had already beat me to the punch (no pun intended).   I used her recipe as inspiration, made a few adjustments, added a little of my flair, and the result was both pretty and delicious.  I was so excited about my drink that I even ran out and bought this glass dispenser for the party.  Well,while  the drink was a huge hit, the dispenser gets a ‘fail’ because the pulp from the juice clogged up the spigot after pouring about five drinks, so I had to switch to a pitcher.  Oh well, it looked pretty while it lasted.

Put some bubbly into your sangria….it’s the perfect celebration cocktail!

Champagne Sangria

Serves a crowd!

2 bottles sparkling wine or champagne (I used Cava, but dry Prosecco would also work)

1 1/2 cups minted simple syrup (see below)

3/4 cup limoncello liquor

1 cup orange juice

1 cup strawberries

1 lemon, zested and sliced

1 lime, zested and sliced

fresh mint leaves

Put all ingredients into a large pitcher with a couple handfuls of ice, stir, and serve immediately!

(For minted simple syrup, I combined a bottle of purchased simple syrup in a saucepan with a handful of fresh mint sprigs.  Bring to a boil, remove from heat, and allow to steep while it’s cooling.  Cool completely and strain out the mint before adding to the sangria.  To make this from scratch, combine 1.5 cups water and 1.5 cups sugar in a saucepan and bring to a boil until sugar is dissolved, add mint, and allow to steep as directed above.)

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Champagne Sangria”

  1. The Ice Wine Diva « Season To Taste Says:

    […] to make a long story short, in the meantime we’d opened other bottles and were drinking my champagne sangria, and completely forgot about the wine.  I didn’t discover it until the next day when I […]

  2. simple syrup recipe mojito Says:

    simple syrup recipe cocktails…

    […]Champagne Sangria « Season To Taste[…]…

Leave a Reply

