That Wine Rocks!

Classic rock:  Dark Side of the Moon.  Forty Licks.  Synchronicity. Woodstock.  

Modern medicine:  Dark Side of the Moon Cabernet Sauvignon.  Forty Licks Merlot.   Synchronicity Red Wine Blend.  Woodstock Chardonnay.

If you know someone who loves wine and loves rock, here’s a fun new collaboration between the two that makes a great gift.  Wines that Rock is a new label pairing classic album covers with great wine.  Best of all, it’s really reasonably priced ($11.99-$15.99).  I don’t normally talk wine too often, because I just drink what tastes good to me.  I’m not overly concerned with the nose or the leg or any other body parts.  If it tastes good and doesn’t empty my wallet, it gets a thumbs-up from me.  But as a very visual person, I have to admit I’m drawn to cool labels so I get extra excited when something I like also comes in a pretty bottle. 

Okay, it might sound gimmicky, but I have to say, I really enjoyed this wine, and not just for the cool labels.  I’m not usually a big fan of Cab (and especially not a fan of big Cabs), but I found the Dark Side of the Moon Cab to have just the right amount of weight to it.  My husband loves big Cabs, so I wondered if he’d think it was too light, but he loved it too.  I also enjoyed the Synchronicity Red Wine Blend, which is a blend of Carignane, Zinfandel, Syrah, Petite Sirah, Grenache and Viognier.  That’s a lot going on, but somehow it comes together nicely.  It’s light and has a lot of berry flavors in it, and is described by the makers as being very “food-friendly” (and I agree).  The Woodstock Chardonnay was also delicious, and I do not normally love chardonnay.  It isn’t oaky, which I prefer.  It’s fruity and crisp, making it a perfect summer wine.  I cannot speak on the Merlot because it was sold out at my favorite wine shop!

I recently gave my friend a bottle of the Synchronicity red blend for her birthday.  She is quite possibly the biggest Police fan on earth, and proclaimed it “the best gift EVER!”.  So there you have it.  Wines that Rock make the best gift ever. 

Rock in the new year with a little music in your glass!  Happy 2011!

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

