Leftovers? Try Turkey and Biscuits

Southern-style food is not something I make with any frequency.  However, after talking with a friend who recently tried a yummy chicken and biscuits recipe, I decided to cross the Mason-Dixon line with my Thanksgiving leftovers. 

I’ve always made  pot-pie bases from scratch with milk and flour whisked on the stovetop, but I didn’t have a lot of time this particular night, so I used a can of condensed cream of chicken soup instead, per my friend’s recipe.  I was skeptical, but the result was really delicious.  I simply diced up about 3 cups of leftover turkey meat, added some chopped leftover veggies (plus Iadded a few more frozen veggies I’d wanted to get out of my freezer)and mixed it all together with the can of condensed soup and some milk.  Into a casserole dish  it went, and I topped it with pre-made buttermilk biscuit dough (the ones in the can that ‘pops’ ).  After some time in the oven, I’m happy to say it was a hit all the way around, and no one suspected it was realy just a bunch of leftovers!

Turkey and Biscuits

Serves 4-6

3 cups cooked turkey meat, diced 

4 cups mixed vegetables (fresh, frozen, or leftover)

1 – 10.75 oz can cream of chicken soup (condensed)

3/4 cups milk

3/4 cup shredded cheese (I used Gruyere, but cheddar is perfect too)

5-6 strips cooked bacon, crumbled (optional)

1 can buttermilk biscuits (from the refrigerator section)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, whisk together the condensed soup, the milk, and the shredded cheese.

Add the diced turkey, veggies, and bacon and pour into a two and a half quart casserole dish. Cover and bake for about 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and take off cover.  Place biscuits on top of turkey mixture and return to oven for another 20-25 minutes, or until biscuits are golden and flaky all the way through.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Leftovers? Try Turkey and Biscuits”

  1. Tes Says:

    That looks really yummy! It sounds like a hearty meal. You did a wonderful work with leftover 🙂

Leave a Reply

