The Poppy Mustard Slaw-Law

Okay, so you might think of coleslaw as a summer thing. Maybe it is. But when the weather turns chilly, I think about my crock pot. And when I think about my crock pot I think about pulled pork. And when I think about pulled pork I think about coleslaw, more specifically my poppy mustard slaw, which is the required condiment for pulled pork sandwiches at my house.  

I first tasted mustard slaw at Virgil’s BBQ in New York. When I ordered my pulled pork, I’ll admit I asked for the slaw on the side, as I’m not an overly mustardy-kinda gal. I started with just a bite on my sandwich, and ended up asking for the waitress to bring extra because it was SO GOOD. The coolness of the slaw next to the warm pork. The bite of the mustard next to the sweet barbecue sauce. O.M.G. Delicious. So, of course I set out to make my own mustard slaw. I add some poppy seeds for a little added texture and just because they are fun, but if you don’t have any, it’s no problem to leave them out. Of course my favorite way to eat this is with pulled pork (or one of my newer favorites, pulled barbeque brisket–YUM), but it is just as good as a side dish for your tailgates and picnics. All hail the mustard slaw!!! 

Poppy Mustard Slaw

Makes enough to top 4-6 sandwiches

5 oz shredded cabbage (green, red or a combination of both)

1 large carrot, shredded

1/3 cup mayonnaise (I use light style)

1 teaspoon whole-grain Dijon mustard

2 teaspoons cider vinegar

1 teaspoon poppy seeds

½ teaspoon sugar (or to taste)

Pinch salt

Place shredded cabbage and carrot in a medium bowl. Toss to combine.

In a measuring cup or small bowl, whisk together the mayo, mustard, vinegar, poppy seeds, sugar and salt.

Pour over the cabbage mixture and toss so dressing is evenly distributed.

 If the slaw isn’t ‘holding together’ to your liking—add a little extra mayo to the mixture until it reaches desired consistency.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

