A Taste of Home, at Home

One of my very favorite restaurants on earth is far from swanky.  It is not in a cool neighborhood, it has paper placemats, orange and brown chicken-themed wall paper, and does not serve alcohol.  It is always packed with a line out the door, and almost everything on the menu under $12 (and comes with a salad!).   If you’ve been here, you already know I’m talking about Brooks’ House of BBQ in upstate New York (Oneonta, to  be exact).  It is the restaurant I grew up going to, and now make sure I go at least once every time I’m back home visiting my family.  The fanciest thing about this place is their website!  Don’t be fooled—it’s a completely down-to-earth place anyone would love (even food snobs). 

Luckily for me (and you), Brooks’ bottles their fabulous sauces and marinades, which I stock up on when I visit, but can also be ordered online.   I’ve blogged before about their to-die-for barbeque sauce which I use for pulled pork and ribs, but I also love their classic chicken sauce, which I use as a marinade for bone-in chicken quarters.   That’s what I made last night on the grill.  I added half a bottle of the sauce to four chicken quarters early in the morning (sealed in a ziplock bag which makes it easy to turn throughout the day).  Bone-in chicken has a lot more flavor than boneless, skinless breasts.  It has a few more calories too, but that is fine with me because in my opinion, the crispy skin is the absolute best part!!!  

 That evening, I popped the pieces on a preheated grill (indirect heat—middle burners on very low and outside burners on medium-high).  Keep in mind that bone-in meat takes significantly longer to cook, and I’d say I cooked them for about 15 minutes on the first side, and approximately 10 minutes on the second side.  All but the very largest piece was done in this amount of time.  Start out with your pieces skin-side down first, and then finish them off on the other side.  This allows the “presentation  side” of the meat to get a nice sear on a clean grill, making a nicer visual presentation.  Serve with some corn on the cob and a salad and you have a delicious meal, which for me is a taste of home…at home.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Thanks Dave for letting me use your Brooks’ picture!  🙂

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

