A Picnic Fit for a Foodie

Every year my daughters’ school has a family picnic.  Everyone spreads out blankets and lawn chairs all over the giant school playground, a DJ plays pop music, the adults socialize, and the kids run wild.  I always love to see what people bring to eat on their picnic.  Lots of people (maybe most) grab take out—whether it be a pizza, subs, or maybe something from the drive-thru at Micky D’s.  Some people get a little more fancy and have sushi or something from one of the nice markets that sell prepared foods.  Some keep it simple and make PB&J.  For me, I love making a meal that we wouldn’t normally eat for dinner, but which is perfectly packable and picnicky. 

This year I decided to make my Gorgonzola Chicken Salad Wraps and a Caprese Pasta Salad on the side.   I sliced up some strawberries and watermelon for dessert (knowing the ice cream truck would be making an appearance later in the evening), and I had a picnic basket full of delicious, picnic-friendly foods any foodie would enjoy.   I popped in some sparkling water and a bottle of my new favorite summer wine (Three Stones Sauvignon Blanc–thanks Andy!)  to complete the meal.  Okay, okay, so I packed ham and cheese subs and juice boxes for my kids figuring I couldn’t get them to sit still long enough to eat anything requiring a fork, but I made sure to pick up the sub rolls they love from my favorite local bakery.   

The whole thing took me under half an hour to prepare (I cheated a little because I had some pesto already prepared and tucked away in my freezer), which, in all honesty, isn’t that much longer than waiting on line at the fast-food drive-thru! 

It’s summer….happy picnicking!

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

