Easiest Entrees: Grilled Flank Steak

I know red meat is not really en vogue anymore, and YES, I read Michael Pollan’s books, and YES, I know it is bad for my heart and my arteries and everything else.  Despite all this, I blushingly admit that I love it.  I don’t eat a lot of red meat for the aforementioned reasons, but when I do, I enjoy it THOROUGHLY.

One of my favorite cuts of red meat is a simple flank steak.  It is a relatively inexpensive cut of meat, cooks quickly, and is delicious with a wide variety of flavor profiles.  It also happens to be one of my favorite things to serve at a dinner party (don’t worry, I always have lots of veggie side dishes for you abstainers).  I almost always use a dry spice rub on my flank steaks (paired with some sort of yummy fruit salsa it is fabulous), but tonight I was really in the mood to just be super-simple.  The meat is so flavorful it really needs no embellishment, so I seasoned it with just salt and pepper (be generous) and tossed it onto my hot grill.  Alongside of it I grilled my favorite grilled garlic potatoes, tossed together a simple green salad and I had a meal any meat-eater would love on the table in no time.

The key to great flank steak is this:  take it off the grill BEFORE it is cooked to medium.  Then, allow it to rest for about 10 minutes, in which time it will finish cooking to medium.  You WANT it to be pink in the middle…overdone flank steak is tough, but when done perfectly to medium, it is delicious and tender.  You also want to cut it across the grain (you’ll be able to see which way the fibers of the meat runs…cut the opposite way), in THIN slices.  Keep these tips in mind and you’ll have perfect steak every time.

Grilled Flank Steak

Serves 4

1 – 2 – 2.5 lb flank steak (trimmed of excess fat–just the really large pieces)

salt and pepper

Preheat your gas grill to high.

Season both sides of the steak with a generous amount of salt and pepper.

Place on hot grill and turn down heat to medium.

Cook approximately 7 minutes, and turn.  The steak should have some color and grill marks on it.

Cook on second side an additional 5 minutes or so, until the meat is nicely browned on both sides.

Remove to a platter and tent with foil.  Let stand about 10 minutes.  Slice into THIN slices ACROSS the grain of the meat and serve hot or at room temperature.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Photo above by cookthinker

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

