Quinoa Salad with Corn & Chile Salsa

It was one of those gorgeous weekends where the weather was perfect—sunny and warm without being too hot or humid.  Since the bugs have not yet descended on our backyard, we decided to eat all our meals alfresco.  Sunday, after a busy day of activities, bison cheeseburgers on the grill seemed like the perfect dinner.  But what to serve on the side?  I didn’t want to make a trip to the grocery store on Sunday night, so I decided to rummage around my pantry for some inspiration.  I had about a cup of quinoa (KEEN-wa) which I decided to use as the base for a very simple salad.   If you haven’t tried quinoa, it is a high-protein whole grain that has a similar consistency to couscous, and a delicious and nutritious alternative to rice.  It also cooks in about 15 minutes, which is about half as long as it takes to cook rice.  I also had an unopened jar of  Trader Joe’s Corn & Chile Tomato-less Salsa, which I’d never tried before.  The jar describes it as “a sweet combination of corn, red peppers, onion and a touch of heat.”  With a couple sliced scallions, I figured these things would come together to make a really nice accompaniment for my burgers.  The result was colorful and really tasty, and was ready in a flash. It really couldn’t be any easier.   I think the addition of some black beans would make it almost perfect (if I had any!). 

Quinoa Salad  with Corn & Chile Salsa

 Serves 4 as a side dish

1 cup quinoa

2 cups of water

6 oz Trader Joe’s Corn & Chile Salsa (about half the jar)

2 scallions, thinly sliced (both green and white parts)

In a medium saucepan, combine quinoa, water, and about 1/4 teaspoon of salt.  Bring to a boil (uncovered), turn down to a simmer, and cook for about 12-15 minutes or until water is absorbed and quinoa is tender.  Fluff with a fork.

Add salsa and chopped scallions and serve warm or at room temperature.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.  And if you liked this recipe, don’t miss Tracy’s Tuesday (5/18) class on SENSATIONAL SIDE SALADS!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Quinoa Salad with Corn & Chile Salsa”

  1. Sonal Says:

    This looks delicious and super easy! My mom was just telling me I need to eat more quinoa. I have some farm fresh corn, frozen from last Sept, which would be yummy in this recipe…with the black beans, maybe some avocado, regular TJ’s salsa, black olives and scallions. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

