Gorgonzola Chicken Salad

  What’s better than realizing you already have all the ingredients to make something delicious without a trip to the grocery store? That’s what happened Sunday afternoon when I discovered I had a great combination of things to make chicken salad for lunch. The night before I’d roasted a chicken and had a big bowl of shredded meat I’d pulled from the bones, plus a bunch of tarragon left over from a yummy corned beef recipe I’d made on St. Patrick’s Day, and last but not least, a container of crumbled Gorgonzola cheese that I’d been sprinkling on salads all week. The only thing I wished I also had were some big buttery croissants on which to put my chicken salad….but I mean who has croissants lying around?   

I didn’t even measure anything…I just chopped up the chicken and tarragon, tossed it all into a mixing bowl with the Gorgonzola, and added mayo until it started to hold together. A little salt finished it off and I piled it high onto toasted English muffins. Okay, with the mayo and cheese this isn’t exactly diet food, but I’d run in a road race that morning and felt I deserved to be a little indulgent! The croissants would really have put the calorie count over the top, but trust me, if I had any, that would have been one fabulous sandwich. It was anyway, even with my “light” English muffins as a substitute!  

Gorgonzola Chicken Salad 
Makes enough for 2 sandwiches** 

1 ½ cups cubed or shredded cooked chicken (leftovers are perfect)  

2 tablespoons tarragon, chopped (or fresh flat leaf parsley would be great too)  

¼ cup crumbled gorgonzola cheese  

¼ cup mayonnaise (or more if it isn’t holding together)  

Salt to taste  

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and divide onto toasted bread, English muffins, or croissants.  

**Please note these measurements are approximate, since remember I was just tossing, not measuring! 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Gorgonzola Chicken Salad”

  1. A Picnic Fit for a Foodie « Season To Taste Says:

    […] year I decided to make my Gorgonzola Chicken Salad Wraps and a Caprese Pasta Salad on the side.   I sliced up some strawberries and watermelon for […]

Leave a Reply

