New Discovery: Carrot Chips & Crispy Green Beans

As I wandered the aisles of our brand new Fresh Market store (a North Carolina-based grocery chain), I stumbled upon sea of bulk containers filled with dried fruits and veggies, snack mixes and nuts.  My eye immediately landed on these bright orange chips, which are made from gargantuan carrot slices.   I was also drawn to the crispy green beans, which I had recently seen on the shelves at Trader Joe’s too.   I made myself a half pound bag of each (they aren’t cheap—at around $9-12 per pound!) and headed home to taste test.

They were both really delicious and crispy.  The carrots were cut more thickly than a potato chip, but were sweet rather than salty.  My kids split their opinions on this one and we got one thumbs up, one thumbs down.  The green beans were light and airy, with a salty flavor I loved.  Keep in mind these are not processed veggies sticks, which are mainly potato.  These are actual carrots and actual green beans, fried to perfection (the green beans are supposedly “vacuum fried” but I have no idea what that means).  Okay, so they aren’t exactly health food, but somehow I felt less guilty eating them since they actually looked like vegetables.   But just how many of these could I eat without truly feeling guilty?

I checked the nutritional info on the Fresh Market website and found that the carrots and green beans both came in at about 130 calories and between 4-6 grams of fat per serving (about one ounce).  However, an ounce isn’t much and I’m sure I ate four times that amount, which makes for a pretty calorie-heavy snack!  When compared to potato chips (I’m partial to Cape Cod potato chips), the carrots and green beans are really only slightly (dare I say?) healthier.  For the same sized serving, the potato chips were 150 calories and 8 grams of fat.  AND, if you opt for the Cape Cod 40% reduced fat variety (which I often do), the fat and calories are identical. 

So, if you are looking for a yummy snack, these veggies are great, but do not fool yourself into thinking they are a healthy alternative to potato chips.  But I will say they are MUCH prettier and would make a great splash at a party (check out the bright purple sweet potato chips too!).  I know I’ll have them at my next one!

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “New Discovery: Carrot Chips & Crispy Green Beans”

  1. Alisa-Foodista Says:

    we love eating raw carrots, but carrot chips sounds good. Maybe I could try baking them instead of deep frying.If you won’t mind I’d love to guide foodista readers to your site.Just add your choice of Foodista widget at the end of this blog post and it’s good to go.Thanks!

Leave a Reply

