Everything Stir Fry

For those of you who follow my blog, I can be something of a stir fry fanatic.  I love stir fries because they are quick, easy, and loaded with veggies.  I also have a strange fascination with creating dishes out of whatever odd ingredients are in my refrigerator.  I see it as a challenge.   So, when I looked into my fridge tonight and saw a wide variety of things screaming to be used, the words “kitchen sink stir fry” flashed before my eyes.  This stir fry was going to have everything in it but the kitchen sink.  Literally.

I’d had a party a few nights before, and therefore had a bunch of cut up veggies left over from my crudite platter (carrots, red bell peppers and snow peas), plus a ziplock baggie full of shrimp (what kind of friends do I have who leave shrimp behind???).  I also had about half a pound of fresh green beans and a giant breast of chicken that went unused during the cooking class I’d taught that morning.  Then there was a small container of shredded pork I’d used to make Pork Carnitas a few nights prior.  And a wedge of red onion in my veggie drawer.  You’re getting the picture.  It was a mish-mash of ingredients begging to be united. 

Luckily for me, I also found a bottle of sweet chili sauce to use as a stir fry sauce, which added great flavor (I got mine at Trader Joe’s).  I made some brown rice, and voila, kitchen-sink stir fry.  You could use any leftover veggies or proteins (beef, chicken, pork, seafood, tofu) to create your own stir fry, and use any prepared stir fry sauce or make your own (see note below). 

Just like they used to say in the Ragu sauce commercial from the 80s “It’s in there!”

Everything Stir Fry

Serves 3-4

4 cups chopped vegetables (any variety)

1 lb protein, cut into bite sized pieces (beef, chicken, pork, seafood, tofu)

1/2 – 3/4 cup stir fry sauce (bottled or homemade)

vegetable or canola oil

In a large pan, heat about 2 tablespoons of oil until hot but not smoking.

Add protein and cook until browned and  no longer raw (particularly important for chicken).  Remove to a plate.

Add a small amount of oil to pan, and add vegetables.  Cook until tender, 5-8 minutes depending on veggies (harder veggies like carrots take longer).

Return protein to the pan, add stir fry sauce.  Heat through and serve over hot rice.

Homemade Simple Stir Fry Sauce:

1 clove garlic, minced

3 tablespoons rice vinegar

3 tablespoons soy sauce (I prefer a low-sodium variety)

1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil (which should be kept in your refrigerator!)

To make stir fry sauce, whisk together garlic, rice vinegar, soy sauce, and sesame oil. 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

