Celebrate 2010 with Pomegranate Cocktails!

I love pomegranates.  They may not look like much from the outside, but once you break into them, the ruby-red interior is a sight to behold.  The sweet little seeds are delicious, and loaded with antioxidants.  They’re fantastic sprinkled on salads, but I am having fun using them in all sorts of ways, including pomegranate cocktails.  It’s a new year!  Why not?

By using pomegranate juice as a mixer(try to look for 100% juice–it’s pricey, but worth it), the sky’s the limit for your drink creations. My first concoction was with the juice, vodka and triple sec, which created a pretty and delicious flavored martini.  Drop in a few fresh pomegranate seeds for garnish and you’ll be transported to a swanky cocktail lounge right in the comfort of your own home.

 Next, I mixed it with champagne to make a fun punch which I served at a party this weekend (recipe below).  Because I had so many pomegranate seeds left over, I decided to also make some pomegranate ice cubes.  I just put a few in each hole of the ice cube mold (I have cute ones that are star-shaped), filled with water, and froze.  Pop them out and they make an adorable way to chill your cocktails.   I  floated them in my pomegranate champagne punch and it was the just right touch.  Why use regular ice when you can have pomegranate ice?

I will pass along a tip for extracting those seeds from the pomegranate.  They tend to fly all over the place when you’re popping them out of the fruit.  All you need to do is fill a big bowl with water, submerge the pomegranate into the bowl, and pop them out under the water.  Then all you need to do is drain the bowl and you have your seeds, and they won’t be all over your kitchen.

Champagne Pomegranate Punch

1 – 750 ml bottle champagne, prosecco or cava (I love Spanish Cava–Cristillino brand is great an inexpensive)

1 cup citron vodka

1 cup pomegranate juice

1/4 cup simple syrup (I buy it in a bottle from Trader Joe’s)

1/2 lemon or orange, cut into thin round slices (for garnish)

Mix all ingredients together in a large pitcher.  Add pomegranate ice cubes (see note above) and serve cold.

NOTE:  Add more vodka, juice or simple syrup to taste.  I didn’t measure—I just poured and tasted until it was delicious.  🙂

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

