Mexican Turkey Chili

Like most people, I found myself with a whole lotta turkey leftovers after Thanksgiving.  There’s nothing like a cold turkey sandwich, but after a day or two I’m usually all turkied-out!  After looking into my pantry and finding a few cans of beans and some diced tomatoes,  I decided to turn my leftovers into a turkey chili that I could stick into the freezer for another night (when turkey might sound appealing again).  I often make chili using turkey, but ground turkey in place of ground beef for a healthier, lower-fat version.  However, by dicing the cooked turkey I already had, it cuts down on cooking time considerably, making this recipe extremely quick cooking.

You can use whatever kind of beans you like…but I used a combination of cannellini, garbanzo, and pinto, only because that was what I had in my pantry.  I love all beans and think that anything goes when it comes to chili.  I also used fire-roasted diced tomatoes, which give a bit of a smokey flavor to the chili.  By choosing Mexican-style chili powder, the chili will be a  little sweeter than if you used another type of chili powder.  Then, the secret ingredient is what  pulls it all together:  peanut butter.  Sounds strange, I know, but adding it gives the chili a creamy consistency and a unique flavor that will keep your family guessing.

If you don’t like or don’t have turkey, you can substitute cooked, diced chicken in this recipe very easily.   It is a perfect dish to eat while watching those New Year’s Day football games! 

Mexican Turkey Chili

Serves 10

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

2 medium onions, diced

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

2  – 14 oz cans diced tomatoes

3 – 14 oz cans beans (any variety or combination)

4 cups diced cooked turkey

2 tablespoons Mexican chili powder

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter

salt and pepper

In a large pot, heat oil until hot but not smoking.  Add onions and saute for a few minutes until slightly softened.  Add garlic and continue to cook until onions are translucent.

Add tomatoes and chili powder and cook for around 5-7 minutes to allow flavors to meld. 

Add beans and diced turkey.  Heat through.

Add peanut butter and stir until incorporated.

Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve hot or cool completely and freeze for up to 3 months.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Mexican Turkey Chili”

  1. frances Says:

    This is REALLY yummy! I love it and had
    several helpings. A great addition to any
    cook’s recipe box.

Leave a Reply

