Short-Cut Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

nov-010My grandmother used to make the best chicken soup.  Chicken and stars, to be exact.  She did it all from scratch, by boiling the chicken in water to make the broth, then using the meat in the soup.  It was the best chicken soup I ever had, and I will probably never duplicate it. 

Part of the reason I will never duplicate it is because I rarely have the time to make soup completely from scratch.  Whenever I roast a chicken for dinner, I take great pleasure in spending some time afterwards with the mangled carcas, pulling every bit of meat from the bones that I can manage.  On a recent night I was able to pull off about a cup’s worth of shredded chicken, which was just enough for a pot of soup .  I do the same with the whole rotisserie chickens I buy at the store when I’m in a hurry.  Using prepared broth (a good quality boxed brand or water and the appropriate amount of concentrated soup base) and the left-over chicken, I make a simple chicken noodle soup my kids love to take to school for lunch in a thermos. 

I keep it simple and use carrots as the main vegetable, but somtimes add green beans, chopped celery, or even peas.  Depends on my mood, and what I have in the fridge or freezer.  I mix up the pasta too—tiny shells, alphabet macaroni, ditalini, or little rings.  Anything small will work.  This soup can be your own creation—add what you love, leave out what you don’t.  And don’t forget this is equally good with leftover turkey meat!

Chicken Noodle Soup

Serves 4

6 cups chicken broth

3 carrots, thinly sliced

1/2 cup small pasta

1 cup cooked, shredded chicken or turkey meat

salt and pepper

Place the broth in a medium saucepan, cover, and bring to a boil.  Add carrots and pasta, and cook approximately 10 minutes or until carrots are tender and pasta is cooked.

Add the cooked chicken and heat through.

Season to taste with salt and pepper.

 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Short-Cut Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup”

  1. Joan VV Says:

    Hi Traci, Enjoy your web site and all of the recipes. Your chicken soup recipe is great but add about 5 whole cloves and you wil love it. Joan

Leave a Reply

