In Season: Butternut Squash Risotto

oct-food-010The summer bounty is behind us, but fall brings some of my favorite things to the farmers market.  Butternut squash is one of those things.  One of my very favorite ways to use butternut squash is in this recipe by my fellow food blogger, Heidi Swanson over at 101 Cookbooks.  I’ve made this recipe many times and the flavors amaze me every time.

However, it is pouring out and I do not feel like going out to the store to get a few of the ingredients I’m lacking for Heidi’s fantastic dish.  So I decided instead to make Butternut Squash Risotto with Sage.  Since butternut squash is very hard and takes a long time to cook on the stove top, I decided to roast it in the oven since I had my oven on for something else anyway.  I simply halved the squash, brushed with some oil and seasoned with salt and roasted on a baking sheet for close to an hour.  Once out of the oven I cut away the skin (easier to do once cooked) and cut it into chunks.  Then I use a very basic risotto recipe, add sage, and toss with the pre-roasted squash toward the end of the cooking time.  A perfect fall rainy-day dish.

Roasted Butternut Squash Risotto with Sage

Serves 4

1 medium butternut squash, halved and seeded

olive oil

1 tablespoon plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 small onion, cut into a small dice

2 cups arborio or carnaroli rice (special short-grain Italian rice available at most grocery stores)

1/2 cup dry white wine

6 cups chicken broth, heated (use vegetable broth to make this a vegetarian dish)

2 tablespoons minced sage

Parmesan cheese

salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with foil and place the halved squash on top.  Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  Roast for 50-60 minutes, or until tender.  Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly before cutting away the tough skin and roughly chopping the flesh (this can be done ahead of time).

In a large saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Add onion and saute until transluscent.  Add rice and continue cooking for about a minute or two.

Add wine, and stir until fully absorbed.  Add about 1/2 cup of hot broth at a time, stirring all the while.  Once absorbed, repeat with more broth until rice is tender.  Add remaining butter and parmesan and stir until incorporated.

Toss in diced butternut squash and sage, and stir to combine.  Serve immediately.

 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “In Season: Butternut Squash Risotto”

  1. Sarah S. Says:

    I’m making this right now!

  2. Sarah S. Says:

    It is great — I was able to use leftover cubed squash from the other night that probably would have gone to waste. Dish is very creamy and satisfying! Thanks!

  3. my boyfriend cooks for me Says:

    My boyfriend and I have accumulated quite a surplus of butternut squash, and this sounds like a wonderful way to use some of them – thanks!

  4. Helene Grossberg Says:

    I want to receive Tracy’s blog.

Leave a Reply

