In Season: Broccoli

broccoli-285I was thrilled to find a big basket of gorgeous heads of broccoli at the farmers market recently.  I was in luck since a Curried Cream of Broccoli soup was on the menu of my last Connecticut cooking class, but I bought extras so I could make this next recipe as well.  The inspiration for this dish comes from two very different places.  My neighbor’s sister-in-law always brings a delicious cold pasta salad to every party which includes gemelli pasta, broccoli, and spicy turkey sausage.  It is excellent.  Then, the other night while at my favorite local restaurant (you know you eat somewhere too often when the hostess hugs your children and all the waitresses know you by name), I noticed a new dish on the menu…”Orecchiette Castellina” which incorporated spicy chicken sausage, broccoli, caramelized onions & parmesan.  I decided to take what I liked from each of these dishes and make my own version.

I opted for farfalle pasta (bowties, or “butterflies” as is the direct translation), broccoli, chicken sausage with garlic (I prefer it spicy, but my kids do not), and lots of parmesan.  By cooking the broccoli right in the same pot with the pasta I saved on clean-up time, and all I needed to do was brown my sausage, toss everything together, and top with cheese.  I worried about the amount of “greenness” in the dish (what is it about green that kids hate so much?)…but my kids gobbled it up, asked for seconds, and even asked if I could put the leftovers in a thermos so they could take it to school the next day.  I guess that qualifies as a winner!

Farfalle with Broccoli and Sausage

Serves 4

1/2 lb farfalle pasta (or other short pasta)

12 oz broccoli florets, cut into small pieces

12 oz turkey or chicken sausage (spicy, mild, or flavored like garlic)–casing removed and broken into pieces

olive oil

1 tablespoon tomato paste

1/4 cup (or more to taste) parmesan cheese

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Add the pasta and cook until al dente.  During the last 3-4 minutes of cooking time, add the broccoli right into the pot and cook together until pasta and broccoli are both tender.  Drain, place in a serving bowl and set aside.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet heat heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil and add sausage .  Cook until browned.  Add tomato paste and stir to evenly incorporate.  Add to the serving bowl with the pasta, top with lots of parmesan cheese and stir to combine.  Serve hot.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “In Season: Broccoli”

  1. frances Says:

    oh, that sounds good. what about the recipe for the broccoli soup? did i miss
    that?

    • Tracy Says:

      Ahhhhh, take my “Healthy Healing Meals” class and that’s one of the recipes! Can’t give away ALL my secrets! 🙂

  2. Catherinette Says:

    Listen, if you’re ever in Baltimore and want to make me dinner, let me know.

Leave a Reply

