Farmers Market Pot Pie

sept-18-005Tonight was one of those nights when I hadn’t planned anything for dinner.  So, I gazed into my refrigerator looking at what I could make from the rag-tag assortment of food lying within.  Two chicken breasts, tons of corn on the cob, half of a bag of carrots, and in my freezer was one frozen sheet of pie crust (the kind they sell at Trader Joe’s is fabulous).  It would have been easy enough to just broil the chicken, boil the corn, and throw a few carrot sticks on the table, and on another night I probably would have done just that.  But tonight it was rainy and chilly and I felt like pot pie.

Pot pie is pretty simple to make, using a few short cuts.  To make life easy, I broiled the chicken breasts in my toaster oven while shearing the corn from the cob and chopping the carrots and a bunch of fresh herbs I had leftover in the fridge.  I threw together a little white sauce (which is MUCH simpler than people realize–I make just enough to coat the filling), diced the chicken, and tossed it all into a baking dish topped with the prepared pie crust.  Into the oven, and you’re done. 

This is WAY yummier than the kind out of the freezer….fresh, delicious, and simple.

Farmers Market Pot Pie

Serves 4

2 large breasts of boneless chicken (about 1 lb)

3 medium carrots, chopped

2 ears of corn, kernels cut off

1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed

1/4 cup of fresh herbs, chopped  (parsley, basil, tarragon, or a combo)

1 plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 tablespoons flour

1/2 cup milk

1 frozen pie crust dough, thawed

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and place under preheated  broiler for approximately 6 minutes on each side, or until no longer pink in the center.  Dice into bite sized pieces and set aside.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, saute the carrots and corn in one tablespoon of butter until just softened.  Remove to a bowl and return pan to heat.

Add 2 remaining tablespoons of butter, melt, and add flour.  Whisk constantly until incorporated, and continue to cook for an additional minute or so to get out the “rawness” of the flour.  Add milk and continue to whisk until slightly thickened.  Return veggies to the pan along with the diced cooked chicken and fresh herbs.  Mix to incorporate.

Pour the filling into an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish.  Cover with pie crust.  Place in the center of the oven for approximately 20 minutes or until crust is golden and baked through.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Farmers Market Pot Pie”

  1. Sarah Caron Says:

    Looks great. I haven’t tried the pie crust at Trader Joe’s, but I am a big fan of their artisan fillo dough.

  2. zoe p. Says:

    You’re right about the weather; I was inspired to make a cozy dish too. I love chicken pot pie and I’ve always got chicken and veggies on hand. Next time, I ‘ll think of this . . . !!

  3. frances Says:

    MMMmmm….Do you do mail order?
    Just kidding. Sounds like a winner!!

Leave a Reply

