They Can’t All Be Winners

Lest you think that I exude Martha Stewartian perfection in the kitchen, you should know that I regularly screw up recipes.  Yes, although I do cook for a living, I still make plenty of mistakes.  I burn things, I forget ingredients, and I sometimes wreck a dish beyond repair.  

missoulablueberries-015Only a day after going blueberry picking with my family, I headed to pick up my weekly CSA farm share.  Naturally, the fruit included this week was a pint of blueberries.  More berries!  I had to start thinking fast because my freezer was already jammed with two big bags of the things and the rest weren’t going to keep much longer.   I was having a hankering for scones, so decided to improvise a bit on my favorite scone recipe from Nick Malgieri’s How to Bake

Now, I make no bones about the fact that I do not consider myself a baker (cooks and bakers are cut from different bolts of cloth).  However, I have made these scones a million and one times, so figured I had this one in the bag.  Well, I honestly do not know what happened—but the dough was a complete mess.  I’m sure part of the problem was that blueberries are just a *tad* wetter and juicier than the raisins which I swapped out, but I suspect there was more to it than a few blueberries. 

Well, to make a long story short, the scones barely made it to the baking sheet.  As I’m looking at this photo of the finished product, I’m realizing they look a lot better coming out than they were going in to the oven, but sometimes pictures can be deceiving.  They actually taste just fine, but are messy and break apart when you pick them up. 

Like I said, they can’t all be winners!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “They Can’t All Be Winners”

  1. frances Says:

    Hey, don’t sweat it. It happens to everyone. Just be
    glad it didn’t happen when twenty were coming for scones!!

  2. zoe p. Says:

    What’s wrong with crumbly scones?

    Tho’ I’m wary of adding anything jucier than an apple to may favorite scone recipe . . .

  3. Tracy Says:

    I think crumbly scones are the norm…although I’m more of a “moist scone” kinda gal! 🙂 Try the Nick Malgieri recipe for Oatmeal Raisin scones if you ever have the time…. YUM.

Leave a Reply

