In Season: Tomato and Peach Salad

aug09-005This week when I went to pick up my CSA share, I was thrilled to see more gorgeous little red and yellow cherry tomatoes.  They are not only beautiful, but out-of-this-world-delicious.  Just for the heck of it, I taste-tested one of those little beauties along side a grape tomato from the supermarket.  Not that I really thought it would be any contest, but eating is believing.  Wow.  Farm-fresh makes all the difference in the world.

I was also thrilled to see giant, juicy peaches on display.  Peaches and nectarines have always been among my very favorite summer fruits, and again, those freshly picked are all the more delicious.  When I was surveying my kitchen for salad ideas to go along with my turkey-breast burgers*, the tomatoes and peaches sitting right next to each other on the counter were all the inspiration I needed.  Texture, color, flavor—check, check, check!  Mixed up with a light champagne vinaigrette and topped with some thinly sliced scallions, it made for a fresh and tasty side to our dinner.

Tomato and Peach Salad

Serves 2

1/2 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved (I used a combination of red and yellow)

1 large peach (or nectarine), cut into a small dice

1-2 scallions, green part only, thinly sliced

1 tablespoon champagne vinegar (okay to substitute white wine vinegar)

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt and pepper

Place the tomatoes, peaches, and scallions in a bowl.

In a small bowl or measuring cup, whisk together the vinegar and olive oil.  (honestly, most of the time I just pour them on top of the salad separately then toss—but you can whisk if you are so inclined!)

Season to taste with salt and pepper and toss to combine.  Serve at room temperature.

*Consider spending the extra money for ground turkey breast.  Regular “ground turkey” almost always includes both white and dark meat, plus the fatty skin.  Ground breast is just that—all lean, white meat, which is much lower in fat and calories. 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “In Season: Tomato and Peach Salad”

  1. zoe p. Says:

    I wish the Gazys would send me some cherry tomatoes! Tho’ I totally appreciate the big read lovelies they send, especially in these hard tomato times! Wonderful salad!

  2. thatgrrl Says:

    Our tomatoes are still green in the garden. We have a basket of ripe peaches from the grocery store though. This sounds interesting, I may pick up some tomatoes.

  3. frances Says:

    ohhh. i wouldn’t mind trying that combo. sounds
    like a great possibility.

  4. frances Says:

    ohhh. sounds like a great possibility. i wouldn’t mind
    trying this combo.

Leave a Reply

