Simple Beach House Cooking: Grill-Steamed Veggies

julyaug-081One of my favorite times of year is when we take our summer beach vacation.  Since we skipped last year in favor of going on a grown-ups only anniversary vacation to Italy and France, I was extra-eager to get back to our treasured beach trips.  This year we returned to Cape Cod, where we stayed in a wonderful house a stone’s throw from the neighborhood beach. 

The great thing about renting a house is that you can actually eat at home.  Not only does this make for a much more relaxing vacation (those of you who have young kids know how UNrelaxing restaurant eating can be!), but it also saves a bundle of money.  But before you think I’m crazy for wanting to cook every night of my vacation, I’ll have you know that I set a few vacation rules for dinnertime.

Rule #1:  Every meal must take under 20 minutes to prepare.

Rule #2:  No pots and pans shall be used.

Rule #3:  Everything must be grill-able.

Rule #4:  If it can’t go in the dishwasher, we’re not using it.

Rule #5:  Cocktails are required.

I kept things as simple as humanly possible.  Burgers and dogs one night, with grill-steamed corn on the cob on the side.  Grilled sausages with peppers and onions, again, grill-steamed corn on the cob on the side.  Steaks.  Boneless chicken breasts.  Pork chops.  Steamers on the grill.  Lots of corn on the cob. 

One night when I thought everyone else might be tired of corn (personally, I never tire of fresh corn), I decided to do a little veggie dish on the grill.  Since my kids have some sort of inability to eat anything with char-marks on them (this includes hot dogs), I decided to grill-steam my veggies as I do my corn.  Just cut up the veggies (I used zucchini, summer squash, red peppers and onions), toss with olive oil, salt and pepper, and place in a foil packet.  Toss on the grill for about 15-20 minutes, and voila!  Char-free veggies.  BTW, this is also how I cook my onions and peppers for my sausages.  It is simple, quick, and requires no clean up!

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Simple Beach House Cooking: Grill-Steamed Veggies”

  1. Sarah Caron Says:

    Foil packets are one of my favorite ways of cooking veggies in the summer. I love that you can infuse herbs right into the veggies with this method too — just toss whole herbs into the packet before sealing.

  2. zoe p. Says:

    That is a brilliant set of rules!

    Not only useful for an eat-in vacation, but for a week at home when one wants to take a vacation from the usual food prep and clean-up routine.

    I’d love to hear more of your beach house meals, but maybe later? In case you are also planning to take a vacation from blogging-I would if I were at the Cape!!

  3. Tracy Says:

    Yes!! Look for more “beach house cooking” posts soon!

Leave a Reply

