Grilled Garlic Potatoes

june-25-019America’s Test Kitchen (PBS) is one of the few cooking shows I make an effort to watch.  I love their recipes, but I also love their taste tests, product reviews, and great tips. 

On a recent episode they were grilling potatoes, which is not something I ever do.  I think of potatoes as more of a winter food–a cold weather comfort food.  However, when I saw those potatoes roasting on the grill, I decided I needed to try them!  Then I heard them say (and I’m paraphrasing here), “you need to pre-cook them because they won’t cook completely on the grill without burning.”  Pre-cook????  I started to fast-forward through the rest of the recipe, because to me, half the point of grilling is not having to clean up!  But then, as the video was speeding by, the sight of a microwave on the screen forced me to reverse direction and rewind.  As it turns out, the pre-cooking of the potatoes is limited to the microwave, so I decided that I may be willing to try this recipe after all!

In order to save time and the need to wash a pan, I skipped their suggestion for making an infused oil over the stovetop (using both rosemary and garlic) , and instead used prepared infused garlic oil that I had in my pantry.  Unlike their suggestion to skewer the uncooked potatoes (a very difficult job), I found it much easier to microwave first, then skewer the softened potatoes.  I also used my gas grill rather than charcoal, which also sped up the process.  The result was delicious, easy, and required only one plate to be popped in the dishwasher.  My entire family absolutely devoured these potatoes…and this from kids who only like potatoes of the french fried variety!  A hit for sure! 

june-25-028Grilled Garlic Potatoes

Serves 4

2 lbs new potatoes (or any small potato), halved

wooden skewers, soaked in water for 30 minutes

2-3 tablespoons prepared infused garlic oil (or any herb flavored oil)

salt and pepper

Place the potato halves on a large plate in one layer and microwave on high heat for about 3-5 minutes, turn, and microwave an additional 3-5 minutes(time depends on the power of your microwave), until the potatoes are barely fork tender (they should be about 3/4 of the way  cooked).

Skewer the halved potatoes onto the skewers (they will be hot–so I use a pair of heat-proof gloves), leaving about an inch of open skewer at either end.  Turn the potatoes so the cut sides are all facing the same direction, brush with the garlic oil, and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Preheat grill to medium.   Cook approximately 5 minutes, until nicely browned, flip, and continue cooking another 3-5 minutes, or until fork tender.

Season with additional salt if necesssary and serve on or off the skewer.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

 Don’t forget to check out other parts of the Twolia site which  features female musicians, filmmakers & producers, the Twolia Awards , plus  business owners selling things from art, jewelry, handmade crafts, beauty products, and much, much more!  There is also a monthly talent contest !

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Grilled Garlic Potatoes”

  1. pwick3 Says:

    OK! This sounds good and easy. Will try asap = and, we
    are expecting some garlic infused olive oil, so it will be
    perfect!

  2. zoe p. Says:

    I found your blog via the Gazy Bros. Farm. I’m also a member!!

    So . . . do you happen to know what variety of potatoes they had a few weeks back? Not the red, which I recently got, but the brighty yellow, thin skinned potatoes with the wonderful aroma?

    I’m baffled about what to do with all my summer potatoes, too. I’m thinking of freezing some gnocchi. Any recipe suggestions?

    • Tracy Says:

      Not sure what kind of potatoes they were— I didn’t see them! Sound like Yukon Gold—but I’m not sure those have a wonderful aroma!
      LOVE the idea of potato gnocci for the freezer! I always make semolina gnocci rather than potato, so I don’t have a “go-to” recipe to share. I’d love to hear what you end up using! 🙂

  3. zoe p. Says:

    I’m going to try some gnocchi. I’ve been searching epicurious for a recipe, but I get the feeling that it really matters what kind of potatoes one uses. Maybe their water content varies?

    My husband suggested we make latkes!

    So maybe I’ll grate the rest of the potatoes and douse the gratings in lemon and freeze them? And defrost them when it’s actually latke weather?

    We get the Gazy farm box delivered, and we can’t really manage to eat more than 1 potato each, per week.

  4. Debralee Says:

    Yummy…can’t wait to try these out!

  5. Easiest Entrees: Grilled Flank Steak « Season To Taste Says:

    […] and pepper (be generous) and tossed it onto my hot grill.  Alongside of it I grilled my favorite grilled garlic potatoes, tossed together a simple green salad and I had a meal any meat-eater would love on the table in no […]

Leave a Reply

