It’s S’more Season…or is it?

june-22-008As I write this post, it is raining cats and dogs.  It is summer, and I am cold, damp, and quite frankly, fed up with this weather pattern we’re experiencing in New England!  I am also watching an old episode of the Barefoot Contessa I had on my DVR…the one where she and her fabulous friends have a fabulous beach barbeque with fabulous food…and s’mores.  That should be ME!!!  I have fabulous friends!  I live one mile from the beach!  I can whip up a fabulous beach meal!  I WANT S’MORES!  But no, I’m stuck inside due to seemingly unending wet weather.  But I still want s’mores.

When chocolate calls my name, I am like a drug addict, or at least what I imagine a drug addict must feel like, never having been one myself.  I must have it.  I try to trick myself by hiding chocolate, thinking when I really need some, I’ll go to that hiding spot and sneak a little bite.  But, the problem is that I actually forget where I hide things.  That may be indicative of other issues, but that’s for another type of blog, not this one.  I do not, however, hide s’more fixings.  I actually have a bin dedicated to s’mores.  It is hidden only from my children, who have no idea that if they only remove two cereal boxes from the cabinet, treasure lies within.

So tonight, after watching Ina and her friends roasting marshmallows at the beach, I decided I’d make “gas stove s’mores”.  Gas stove-check.  Wooden skewers-check.  Kids in bed-check.  I was ready to feed that s’more loving monkey on my back!  Just be careful when roasting over a gas stove—because that blue flame is MUCH hotter than your average campfire and your marshmallows will burn very quickly!  Hold them further away from the flame than you think you need to and you’ll get beautifully golden brown goodness (unless you’re one of those freaks like my husband who loves totally blackened, burned marshmallows). 

If your 4th of July picnic ends up indoors, give these a try! 

And Happy Birthday to my niece and nephew who turn three today!!!

Gas Stove S’moresjune-22-005

Makes 2.

2 marshmallows

4 graham cracker squares

1/2 of a Hershey bar (6 little rectangles–or more if you want!)

1 wooden skewer

Divide the chocolate between two graham cracker squares.  Carefully roast the marshmallows to desired doneness over a gas flame (or a candle, if you don’t have a gas stove).  Place one marshmallow on each chocolate covered graham square, and top with remaining square to form a sandwich.  Pretend you’re outside and enjoy.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “It’s S’more Season…or is it?”

  1. REH Says:

    Definitely made me smile on a cool and foggy morning! Love those s’mores!

  2. Tracy Says:

    It’s July 4th and the sun is shining here in Connecticut….so I may get “real” s’mores after all!!!

Leave a Reply

