Grill-Steamed Corn on the Cob

corn-in-husk

I love the concept of grilled corn.  Toss it right on your grill grates next to whatever else you’re cooking, no mess, no fuss.  However, time and time again, no matter what method I’ve used for grilling corn on the cob (husk on, husk off, soaked, un-soaked, brushed with oil…etc, etc), I always find the texture of the finished result a little on the chewy side.  The flavor is good, but when I bite into an ear of corn, I want that crrrr-UNCH! 

Rather than dirty a giant pot in which to boil the corn, there had to be another, easier solution.  One day I saw a chef foil-wrapping his corn for the grill and I had an idea….why not figure out a way to make that foil packet a steamer packet, mimicking what happens in the boiling water?  I had to look no further than my freezer for the perfect answer:  ice.  By wrapping corn cobs (already husked) and some crushed ice in sealed foil packets, I could get that crunch I was looking for without having to waste time and energy boiling a giant pot of water!  The corn slowly steams to crunchy perfection right along side your other grilled items!  Try it out!

Grill-Steamed Corn on the Cob

Serves 6

6 ears of corn, husks removed

6 pieces of foil, about 8″ long

1/4 cup crushed ice per cob

Preheat grill to medium-high heat.

Place one cob and 1/4 cup of ice on each piece of foil and wrap loosely, but seal the seam tightly. 

Place directly on grill grates and cook for approximately 15-20 minutes, depending on how crunchy you like your corn (less time for more crunch).

Remove corn from foil and serve hot.

Click here for or more of my corn on the cob recipes.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

 

Don’t forget to check out other parts of the Twolia site which  features female musicians, filmmakers & producers, the Twolia Awards , plus  business owners selling things from art, jewelry, handmade crafts, beauty products, and much, much more!  There is also a monthly talent contest !

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Grill-Steamed Corn on the Cob”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Interesting. I will have to try this next time. I am trying the husk on, soaked method for today. Have a great day! =)

Leave a Reply

