Heirloom Tomato Salad

tomato-003To think there was a time in my life when I did not like fresh tomatoes!  Granted, this was when I was a child, and unless you grew your own tomatoes, the ones with which you became familiar were the orangey, mushy, tasteless grocery store variety.  Who could blame me?  It wasn’t until I tasted a fresh-from-the-vine tomato that I realized what I’d been missing out on all that time.

This is the time of year people in my neck of the woods begin planting their tomatoes.  When my neighbor found himself with too many plants to fit in his small garden, he offered up the extras to me.  People assume that because I cook, I must also garden.  This couldn’t be further from the truth.  So although tomato plants cause me stress, actual tomatoes make me happy.  So, you can imagine my delight when I came across a beautiful container of various heirloom tomatoes at my local market.  Red, orange, yellow and green tomatoes of all shapes and sizes!  Gorgeous!  A colorful tomato salad simply adorned with basil, red onion, and some cubed, fresh mozzarella.  Great for lunch, fantastic when paired with a homemade pizza or pasta dish.

Heirloom Tomato Salad

Serves 4 as a side salad

1 lb mixed heirloom grape, pear and cherry tomatoes, halved

2 tablespoons minced red onion

4 oz fresh mozzarella cheese, cubed

1/4 cup fresh basil, cut into thin ribbons

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Place the tomatoes, onion, mozzarella, and basil in a medium bowl and toss to combine. 

Whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper in a small bowl or measuring cup and add to the tomatoes.  Serve at room temperature.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

