Yo Smoothie!

fruit-smoothieI’ll start out by saying that I do not care for yogurt.  Never have.  I go through stages where I TRY to like it, because I know it is healthy, loaded with calcium, low in calories, contains acidophilus, and is generally a good thing to eat.  But try as I might, I get about half way through the container and just admit to myself that it’s not going to happen. 

However, the older I get, the more concerned I become about my bone health, which, apparently, for most women, starts going downhill in our mid-30s.   Since I can’t sit around eating ice cream and cheese all day (in which case my bones will become only ONE of my problems!), I was going to have to find some way to incorporate yogurt into my diet.  No, frozen yogurt doesn’t really count.

Yo-smoothie to the rescue!  By combining healthy yogurt with unsweetened frozen fruit and a little milk or calcium-fortified orange juice, I have the makings of a delicious, refreshing  smoothie you AND your bones will love.  By using frozen fruit you eliminate the need for ice, and can enjoy even when your favorite fruits are not in season.  Perfect for after a run (don’t forget those weight-bearing exercises–also good for maintaining bone health!), or it even works for breakfast or a light lunch. 

Yo Smoothie

Makes about 16 oz

1 – 6 oz container non-fat yogurt (I prefer vanilla flavored)

2 cups unsweetened frozen fruit (berries, mango, pineapple, bananas, etc–any combo)

1/2 cup skim milk or calcium-fortified orange juice (or more for a thinner consistency)

Place all ingredients into a blender and puree until smooth.  You may need to stir with a spoon in one or two times (with the blades OFF, of course!) to move the process along if you do not have a wide-bottomed blender. 

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Above photo by gamany.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

