Tarragon Chicken Salad with Walnuts

chx-sal-001Yes, I’m talking tarragon again!  It just might  be my new favorite herb!  After using just a tablespoon of tarragon in a Carrot Macaroni & Cheese recipe I found in Food & Wine magazine, naturally, I had a lot left over.  Tarragon is pretty classic in chicken salad, so although I don’t normally incorporate it into my stand-by recipe, I figured I’d give it a whirl. 

Again, as I mentioned in my last post on this topic, too much tarragon could ruin the finished dish, so be careful!  The anise-flavored leaves are powerful in small amounts, so often just a dab will do ya.   I should point out that as a general rule, I actually do not like anise/licorice flavors, but somehow, I LOVE the fresh flavor of tarragon!  By combining white meat chicken breast with celery, red onion, and walnuts for texture, the tarragon adds a little something special to an otherwise simple chicken salad.  Don’t get me wrong, I love simple, but I have to admit that a touch of tarragon really transforms this entire salad! 

Move over basil—- tarragon’s in town! 

Tarragon Chicken Salad with Walnutschx-sal-0031

Makes enough for 2 sandwiches (about 2 cups)

6 oz cooked chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces

1 stalk celery, minced

2 teaspoons minced red onion

2 teaspoons minced tarragon

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

1/4 cup good quality light mayo (I like Helmann’s Light)

Place all the ingredients, except for the mayo, in a bowl and stir to combine.  Add mayo and mix.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve on your choice of toasted bread or scoop into a wrap, garnished with fresh spinach leaves if desired.

Click here for more information about Tracy’s Connecticut cooking classes, or to read her The Secret Ingredient Blog.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Tarragon Chicken Salad with Walnuts”

  1. Donna Says:

    Guess you’ll be growing this in your Aero garden soon!

  2. Lizla Says:

    I was wondering why most recipes I have seen add fresh lemon juice. Would u use in this recipe or is it not necessary? Thank you!

    • Tracy Says:

      Lemon juice adds good flavor and “brightness” to many dishes, including chicken salad. You could certainly add a squeeze or two in this recipe with good results.

Leave a Reply

