Product Profile: Complete Body Cleanse

cleanse-001I was recently listening to the radio when a commercial caught my attention.  It was describing how from 5-12 pounds of waste can get “stuck” in our system, on the walls of our intestines, colon, and more, and how it is a good idea to occasionally flush it out.  It advertised some sort of regimen that would rid you of all this excess waste, which would translate to significant weight loss.  While the “get thin quick” aspect of this ad didn’t have me convinced, I did find myself continuing to think about the concept of  all that waste “stuck” in my system.

When a friend announced that she was starting a week-long “body detox” program, I started thinking more about the idea.  As I strolled the aisles of Trader Joe’s that week, I noticed a blue box among the vitamin and herbal supplements.  It read “Complete Body Cleanse” .  It seemed simple enough— take three different dietary supplements for fourteen days and your body will be gently detoxified.  The box states that it “supports detoxification for the entire body including the intestines, liver, gall bladder, and digestive systems.”  After speaking to one of the associates, I decided for $12.99 it was worth a shot.  While my main goal wasn’t weight-loss, a few pounds shed would be a nice bonus.

cleanse-005The three supplements include an herbal  Digestive Formula, which promotes “bowel cleansing”.  The Liver Formula rids your body of toxins, and the Fiber Formula is designed to absorb the toxins and safely carry them out of your body.  Safety is mentioned several times, as is the fact that this is a “gentle” cleanse (which is why it takes two whole weeks).

Well, gentle it was.  The first five days…nada.  By day six, I think the supplements finally began to kick in, but not in a major way.  As impatient as I was the first several days, I believe this slow readjustment of your system is a much safer way to detox.  When I initially mentioned this system to my husband, he wanted me to be the guinnea pig first, since I work from home.  He didn’t want to be in a meeting and have to make a mad dash to the office bathroom if things were moving too quickly.  I can honestly say that this would never be an issue, so you don’t need to take a vacation to detox! 

I ran into my friend who planned to do a much more intense detox through her chiropractor’s office (one in which you couldn’t eat!), and she admitted that after 12 hours she had to quit.  She was sick as a dog and couldn’t move, so quickly abandoned the idea.  To me, this could be a very dangerous thing, and I certainly don’t think any detox program should leave you incapacitated.  We’re talking about the detoxification of bodily waste, not heroin!

At the end of fourteen days, I do feel as if I’ve cleaned out the pipes a bit.  That being said, I think I normally get plenty of fiber in my diet from lots of fruits, veggies, legumes, and whole grains.   For a person who wasn’t used to fiber, the results would likely be far more signifcant.  Is it worth trying?  Yes.  It is simple enough, and all you need to do is remember to take the supplements.  No additional dietary restrictions are required.  Would I recommend it?  Again, yes.  Do I feel like I rid my body of 5-12 pounds of waste and toxins?  Not necessarily, but every little bit helps.  And for the record, I didn’t lose any actual weight on the scale… so if your goal is weight loss, don’t expect it to put you back in that bikini. 

The Complete Body Cleanse can be found at Trader Joe’s in the vitamin/supplement aisle.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Product Profile: Complete Body Cleanse”

  1. Shelly Says:

    I used to think about trying that until I asked 3 different GI doctors for their opinions about cleansing and all 3 of them told me it was totally useless because our gut is meant to handle what we put into it. So, I have never tried it but appreciate your blog post about it.

  2. Tracy Says:

    That is interesting— I have a friend who’s doctor actually recommended she do this cleanse! As I said, I truly believe with a healthy diet you shouldn’t need something like this. However, I also don’t think it can hurt to clean out the pipes a bit. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. Sara Says:

    Good content, thanks for sharing it with us

  4. Ann Says:

    Hi Tracy,

    What was your diet like while on this cleanse? The box has a lot of restrictions on diet.

    Thanks,

    Ann

  5. Tracy Says:

    I actually didn’t really restrict my diet too much other than avoiding alcohol. Ate a normal, healthy diet.

Leave a Reply

