Valentine’s Cookies Need a Name!

After years of piling folders on a shelf in one of my kitchen cabinets, I finally discovered the beauty of a file cabinet (yes, I know they were invented centuries ago).  Naturally, this organizational shift had me sifting through everything, discarding unnecessary papers, old files, and once again, paging through my colossal collection of recipes torn from magazines and the like.  My last sojourn through this folder inspired recipes such as Spicy Udon Noodles , but with Valentine’s Day right around the corner, something sweet caught my eye. 

This particular cookie recipe created an almond-butter based dough, and then added bulk with quick-cook oatmeal and cashews.  I actually had a jar of almond butter in my refrigerator that was about to expire, and  I jumped at the chance to use it.   I also had a brand new canister of organic multi-grain hot cereal which my oatmeal-loving daughter decided she didn’t like (even after I loaded it up with honey), and I figured it would work in place of the oatmeal.  At the very least, these cookies would be a way to clear out my kitchen! 

I omitted the cashews in favor of chocolate chips, because hey, in my mind, chocolate is a prerequisite for any good dessert, especially on Valentine’s Day!  The resulting cookie was FAB. U. LOUS….and I’m pretty sure much yummier than the original recipe (unless you’re a cashew freak, that is).  I added lots of pictures to try to convey their deliciousness…but you need to make them yourself for the full effect.

There is only one problem…what should they be called?  Almond Butter Cookies just don’t do them justice, so I need your help.  Get those creative juices flowing and name these cookies!  I’ll announce the winning name next week, and link back to your website or blog if you have one.   GOOD LUCK!

No-Name Cookies

Makes 3 dozen cookies

10 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

½ cup almond butter

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 ¼ cups granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

¾ teaspoon salt

2 ½ cups multi-grain hot cereal (I used Country  Choice Organic)

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Parchment paper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place butter and almond butter in a large mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer until smooth. 

Add sugars and beat until light and fluffy, then add eggs and vanilla.  Continue to beat until combined.

In a small bowl, add flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt and whisk to combine.

Add half of the flour mixer to the wet ingredients, and with the mixer on a low setting, beat until incorporated.  Add remaining flour mixture and mix again until smooth.

Add the multi-grain cereal and chocolate chips and mix by hand until just incorporated.   

Drop dough onto parchment-lined cookie sheets (about 2 tablespoons per cookie) and bake for 17-20 minutes, or until very lightly golden.

Cool completely on a rack.

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Valentine’s Cookies Need a Name!”

  1. Jennifer Johnson-Carr Says:

    Are they crispy or at all crunchy?
    If so, since your posting for Valentine’s you could call them Cupid’s Crunchy Cookies…If chewy, then perhaps Cupid’s Chewy Charms. Sorry, that is the extent of my creativity after a day of work and a couple glasses of red wine. My husband is making suggestions, but I can’t post them for the public. Not too helpful.

  2. Tracy Says:

    They are chewy right out of the oven, but then end up nice and crunchy!

  3. Tracy Says:

    Okay, so everyone is being shy!! Well, thanks to Jennifer for her suggestion, which I happen to love! From this point forward, the cookies shall be named….(drum roll please)….
    CUPID COOKIES!!!

  4. Lonny Adrein Says:

    I’ve been having problems subscribing to this feed. It lets me subscribe and it loads in the rss reader program I use (which is netnewswire for mac) but it’s not showing new posts. A few duplicates too. Am I using the wrong url perhaps?

  5. Tracy Says:

    Lonny, I have passed along your comment to our tech people and will let you know! Sorry for all the trouble!!!!
    Thanks for reading!!!
    –Tracy

  6. Tracy Says:

    I checked with the tech support folks and they said you may be using the incorrect feed URL. It needs be one of the following in order for it to work correctly:
    http://www.twolia.com/blogs/season-to-taste/feed/

    http://feeds2.feedburner.com/twoliablog/SeasonToTaste

    Please let me know if you still have issues! Thx.

  7. groltz Says:

    Very good blog, I’m on to discover some more cool articles here!

  8. blaze Says:

    Nice post. Thanks for sharing these tips.

  9. Laura Peterson Says:

    Sorry to be off topic, but I like your posts and I wanted some feedback for my blog. I have a hard time writing, but I do want to share my experiences. Am I stuck between a rock and a hard place? Or should I just do it?

    • Tracy Says:

      What is your blog link? I’d be happy to take a look! I think to blog you need to 1.) really LOVE what you’re blogging about, 2.) love to write, and 3.) have an unending stream of things to write about!

      It can be slow-going at first, but I’d say give it 6 months and see if you still enjoy it, or if it becomes a big stressor in your life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

