Superbowl Chipotle Chicken Chili with Black Beans

Every new year, I get inspired to clean out, clear up, and re-organize my life, or at least my kitchen.  Judging by the line of cars heading into the Goodwill donation center the other day, I’m not the only one trying to make a fresh start in 2009.  Everyone has that junk drawer, catch-all file, or maybe even an entire closet-full of things that are just begging to be put into order.  I have a bulging mess of a recipe folder, to which I’ve alluded in the past.  Every now and then I get the urge to go through that folder, which is the holding-place for every recipe I clip, tear out, or scratch down during the course of the year.  I recently blogged about a stir-fry recipe that I revived and revised, and now I’ve found a chili recipe that needed to come out of hiding.

The original recipe was published in Bon Appetit in 2002, and was called “Black Bean, Yellow Pepper, and Cumin Chili”.  I’d made it once and “starred” it, so it must have been good.  When I looked at it with fresh eyes, I realized that I didn’t have any cumin seeds, for which it called, and I was really in the mood for something a little meatier.  With a few substitutions and addtions here and there, I revised the recipe to be a little less spicy, a little heartier, and to my mind, a little more child-friendly.   It is the perfect dish to serve at a football party, after a day of skiing, or to bring to a potluck supper.  Make a batch of my cheddar corn bread to go alongside the chili, and you have a fantastic meal.  Better yet, make a double batch and freeze half for another night!  It will keep in the refrigerator for a couple days, and in the freezer for up to 2 months.

Chipotle Chicken Chili with Black Beans

 Serves 6

1 onion, chopped

1 yellow bell pepper, chopped

1 teaspoon cumin

2 medium chicken breasts, diced into bite-sized pieces OR 1 lb ground chicken

1 teaspoon canned chipotle chilies in adobo sauce, minced

1- 28 oz can diced tomatoes (fire roasted, if available)

2 cups chicken broth

olive oil

salt and pepper

Heat oil in a large pan over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and peppers and saute about 5 minutes, until beginning to soften.

Add the cumin, and “toast” along with veggies a few additional minutes. 

Add chicken, and cook until no longer pink (about 7 minutes).  Add chipotle chilies, beans, tomatoes (with their juices), and broth.  Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer for about 30 minutes, until liquid has reduced by about half.

Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve with corn bread. 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Superbowl Chipotle Chicken Chili with Black Beans”

  1. Alisa Says:

    I just found your site, and this chili sounds fantastic! I love that you use the adobo chiles, one of my new favorite ingredients 🙂

  2. Tracy Says:

    Thanks! Chipotle chilies in adobo sauce are one of my favorites too! But they are SPICY…so a little goes a long way. You can store the rest in an airtight container in your fridge. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

