Chicken Pot Pie: Updated

On Sunday I was in the mood for something homey…some sort of comfort food.  I’d had pasta the night before, so homemade macaroni and cheese was out, and I’d just made a roasted chicken earlier that week.  After scanning my pantry and fridge, I decided I was in the mood for pot pie.  But as much as I love traditional pot pie, with its flaky crust and creamy sauce, I thought we’d all be better off with a healthier, updated version. 

 I started with some skinless, boneless chicken breasts and a variety of vegetables.  Since I have small kids, who can sometimes be picky, I thought it best to choose veggies I know they’d eat:  carrots, peas, and corn.  Next, instead of a white, cream-based sauce, I opted for a lower-calorie, healthier tomato-based sauce for my pot pie.  Any prepared sauce will do…everyone has their personal favorites.  Just to add a touch of creaminess to the mixture, I tossed in a little half-and-half, which really transformed the entire dish. 

When it came to the crust, I chose to omit the bottom crust entirely, partly to cut back on fat and calories, but also to save time.  A flaky pastry crust may taste good, but can be tricky to prepare.  By using a multigrain baking mix, I prepared a biscuit-like crust to top my pot pie, and sprinkled it with a little parmesan cheese to give it a little extra flavor.

 This dish is really easy to prepare, and is absolutely delicious.  My whole family loves it….and I was almost disappointed when there were no leftovers! 

Healthy Family-Style Chicken Pot Pie

Serves 4

 1 onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

3-4 medium carrots, diced

1 cup frozen peas, thawed

2 ears of corn, cooked and removed from cob (or about ¾  cup kernels, thawed if frozen)

1 lb chicken breasts, cut into a ¾” dice

1 cup prepared tomato sauce

¼ cup half and half

For crust:

2 cups whole wheat or multigrain pancake mix

2/3 cup of milk

1-2 t sugar

2 T parmesan cheese (optional)

 

In a large skillet or saucepan, sauté the onions, carrots, and garlic in a about 2T of olive oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Remove veggies to a bowl.

In the same pan, heat another tablespoon of oil and add diced chicken.  Cook about 5-7 minutes, or until no longer pink.

When chicken is cooked, add the cooked vegetables back into the pan and add tomato sauce and half and half.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.   Pour into a 9″ deep dish pie plate.  Set aside.

Preheat  oven to 425 degrees.

In another bowl, mix the multigrain pancake mix with 2/3 cup of milk and sugar.   Dollop biscuit mixture on top of chicken and vegetable mixture.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese if desired.

Bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes until biscuit is golden and cooked all the way through.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Chicken Pot Pie: Updated”

  1. paula Says:

    This is a variation on a classic theme
    that begs to be tried! I can taste it
    already. Sounds good!

  2. paula Says:

    see my first comment. i look forward to
    eating this very SOON.

Leave a Reply

