Harvest Grill

This time of year, I’m still using my outdoor grill as much as possible.  The air may be getting crisper, but I still think it is perfect grilling weather.  The other night I was planning on making sweet potato spears to go along with a marinated flank steak, but decided that rather than dirty my kitchen, I’d try them on the grill. 

I’d learned from previous adventures with sweet potato spears that too much oil will ruin the entire batch, rendering them soggy, limp, and well, oily.  This time, I tossed my spears with just a touch of olive oil, a generous amount of salt, and some freshly ground pepper.  I also found a red bell pepper left over from my CSA farm share the previous weekend, so I sliced it up and tossed it in as well.  The orangey-gold of the potatoes and the bright red bell peppers looked beautiful together…harvest colors perfect for fall.

Now the trick was going to be keeping all those spears from falling through the grill grates!  Because my main objective was not to do any dishes that night, the metal grill basket I had was not an option, since it is NOT easy to clean.  So, I decided to fashion my own grill basket out of disposable tin foil.  The heavy-duty variety is best, but if you don’t have any, just use a double layer of regular foil.  I folded and crimped the edges on all four sides large piece of foil, to mimic a baking sheet (see photo below).  Be sure to spray the foil with some non-stick cooking spray, place on your hot grill, then spread your veggies around evenly.  As long as you’re careful not to poke through the foil when turning your food, this is an easy solution for grilling your spears.  The result is great looking spears with some great color, crispy edges, and terrific grilled flavor.  They won’t be as crispy as fries, but they are just as tasty and leave no mess in your kitchen!

Grilled Sweet Potato and Red Pepper Spears

Serves 4

1 ½ lbs sweet potatoes, peeled (if desired) and cut into2 inch long fries

1 large red bell pepper, cut into spears

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt/pepper

Non-stick cooking spray

Heavy duty tin foil-a piece approximately 24 inches long

 

Preheat grill to medium-high heat.

Fashion the tinfoil so it resembles a baking sheet by folding up the sides about an inch and crimping them so they stay up.

In a large bowl, combine the sweet potatoes, red peppers, olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste.

Spray the foil “pan” and place on the grill grates.

Spread the vegetables around the “pan” so they are in an even layer, close grill, and allow to cook for approximately 15-20 minutes.  Be sure to carefully toss them around a few times during cooking.  Potatoes and peppers should be tender and cooked through.

Remove to a bowl and serve hot.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Harvest Grill”

  1. paula Says:

    not a bad idea! and, sweets are sooo much
    healthier than white potatoes.

Leave a Reply

