Lobster Salad

I did not grow up in New England, or even by an ocean, so lobster was not something we ate with any frequency.  I think the first time I had lobster was on a family trip to Bar Harbor, Maine when I was about nine or ten years old.  I remember being surprised when they brought a whole lobster to the table, and was very intrigued as my mother explained what parts you could eat and how you extracted those parts from the bright red shell.  It seemed like an awful lot of work, but I definitely became a fan of the king of the crustaceans. (Photo at left by “No MSG”)

Since we didn’t have access to a lot of fresh lobster back then, I also was not privy to the debates about lobster salad.  How much mayo, what kind of roll, fresh celery or celery salt?  It seems there is an on-going argument between New Englanders surrounding the proper way to make lobster salad.  Since I had no pre-conceived notions or biases toward any one preparation, I could do as I wished and not get anyone in my family upset.  After trying many types—too plain, too fancy, too “wet”, too “dry”, and too much other stuff, I came up with a version that I like best.  I tend to be a bit of a purist when it comes to food, and this is a perfect example of that.  No extraneous, super-fussy ingredients that take away from the salad’s star—the lobster.

As for the roll, I like a buttered and lightly toasted split-top hot dog bun.  I find these preferable to the regular, side-split hot dog buns because I think they hold more filling.  They also have a flat bottom so they will stand up on the plate, rather than rolling over and spilling out the precious lobster salad. 

Recently, I had a wonderful lobster dinner at a local supper club.  Between the huge lobster (1 ½ lbs!), clams, mussels, and all the fixings, I was just too stuffed to eat everything.  I decided to take my tail to go and looked forward to preparing a wonderful lunch the following day.  I decided to keep it simple and use just what I had on hand—celery and red onion for crunch and color, light mayo for binding, and a squeeze of lemon for freshness.   Now that’s my idea of great leftovers!

Lobster Salad

Serves 2

1 medium lobster tail, (6-8 oz) cooked

¼ cup chopped celery

¼ cup chopped red onion

¼ cup light mayonnaise

1 T fresh lemon juice

Salt & pepper to taste

Roughly chop the lobster tail and place in a mixing bowl.

Add celery, onion, mayo, and lemon juice and stir to combine.

Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve on buttered and toasted split-top hot dog rolls.

 

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

